One Woman's Journey

Thoughts about God, life, books and struggles

Wow… OK, God September 4, 2009

Filed under: Uncategorized — karenelizabeth102 @ 10:52 am

So, reading/studying through Ezekiel, and in Chapters 2 and 3 God begins to tell Ezekiel what his mission is, where he is going and what he is to do when he gets there. Holy moly. God was using the pastor who is preaching these to speak to my soul and my heart. I’m overwhelmed.

So, this is what hit me… 2:6-7, “And you, son of man, do not be afraid of them or their words. Do not be afraid, though briers and thorns are all around you and you live among scorpions. Do not be afraid of what they say or terrified by them, though they are a rebellious house. You must speak my words to them, whether they listen or fail to listen, for they are rebellious.”
I must speak His words to them because whether they listen or not is not my concern. My concern is obeying God’s command. I can’t describe how close to home these words are right now. My heart is so heavy with just this 1st week at my new job. There is so much going on, good and not so good. I’m not sure how to even begin to determine what is good and what is not. But that doesn’t matter. I need to speak the words that He has given me.
And here is the same thought in 3:7-9, “But the house of Israel is not willing to listen to you because they are not willing to listen to me, for the whole house of Israel is hardened and obstinate. But I will make you as unyeilding and hardened as they are. I will make your forehead like the hardest stone, harder than flint. Do not be afraid of them or terrified by them, thought they are a rebellious house.”
I have no reason to be afraid, no reason to doubt what God has given me to say, I must say it out of obedience to Him. I must be obstinate with the word of God. Never flake, never back down, because these are the words that he has given me to say.
May the LORD be praised for He is good.

 

Leave a comment