One Woman's Journey

Thoughts about God, life, books and struggles

A God that Cares September 17, 2009

Filed under: Uncategorized — karenelizabeth102 @ 9:48 pm

Ezekiel 5 & 6… God is ANGRY. Seriously, not happy.
But in the study I’m doing this is the question put forth by the pastor… would you rather have a God who loves you enough to be angry with you to correct your paths so that you can walk with Him or a God that lets you do whatever you want, doesn’t really pay attention or care what you do, but you won’t spend eternity with Him?
I don’t know about you, but I would MUCH rather have a god that cares. I know that it doesn’t seem logical, but it is good. God loves us enough to care if we screw up. God loves us enough to correct us. God loves us enough that He sent His SON to DIE for us.
That floors me. How is that possible? How can a God who is great and powerful and creator of the universe love me enough to die for me? That’s craziness to my feeble human mind, but it is the truth and it is reality.
In these chapters God reveals that He is not happy with how Israel has been acting and so, He is going to punish them. He knows that they will not listen to Ezekiel, His chosen prophet. He knows that they are stubborn and obstinate (sound familiar yet?) and that they are not following His ways.
Our God is a jealous God. He is one that wants us to love nothing but Him. After all, it is what He created us for.
We are, however, seemingly hellbent on loving everything BUT Him. We are stubborn and obstinate, we do not listen to what He is saying, and I believe, He has sent us prophets in our own day and we are not listening to them. We are not walking the way that God wants us to. We are just like Israel.
What do we do then?
Steps 1 and 2, as far as I know are interchangeable, but not skippable. Pray and read His word. Become immersed in prayer, make it a constant conversation between you and God… all day! And be enveloped in His word. Learn all we can from the book that tells the greatest story ever told. An Epic Story by an Epic Author. I think it deserves to be read.

 

Leave a comment